Exploring the Wildlife and Transmission Interface: Renewable Energy Zone Planning

2009

Sponsored by the National Wind Coordinating Collaborative - (1:30-3:30pm CDT; 12:30-2:30pm MDT; 11:30am-1:30pm PDT) In this first webinar, participants will seek to understand the purpose and goals of various state planning processes, as well as the challenges associated with data collection and the technical tools used to identify and classify zones.  State planning efforts under discussion will include three or four from the following states:  Nevada, Arizona, Colorado, and California's Renewable Energy Transmission Initiative (RETI)

This webinar is the first in a series involving a new approach to electric transmissio.  Electric transmission improvement and expansion currently ranks high on the national energy agenda, highlighting an opportunity to review current state and regional transmission planning processes.  Building new transmission requires planning, paying for, permitting and siting lines.  In addition to traditional transmission planning, that focuses on reliability and economics, new landscape-level, collaborative planning approaches have emerged to bring wildlife and other land use interests to the table early in the transmission planning process.  This series of webcasts will address this state of the art landscape planning process.

Other webinars in the series include:

Regional Renewable Energy Zone Planning (early-mid August)

Wildlife and Other Land Use Data in the Midwest and East (early-mid September)

Increasing Application through Technology (late September-early October)

Register at:  http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=dtZumD_2b3XXJHhKLsMrX4AQ_3d_3d

Registration is limited.

Event type: